Instant Personal Loan vs Credit Card Cash Advance: Cost Compared
Instant personal loan vs credit card cash advance in India: worked cost examples, hidden charges, credit score impact, and when each option makes sense.
When you need cash for a few weeks and already hold a credit card, the two realistic options are an instant personal loan from a regulated digital lender or a cash advance by withdrawing money on the card at an ATM. For most short gaps the personal loan is cheaper and more transparent, because a cash advance charges a withdrawal fee plus interest from day one with no interest-free period. This article compares both honestly, with worked examples, so you can decide for your own situation.
How each option works
Credit card cash advance
A cash advance is a withdrawal of cash against your card's credit limit, usually at an ATM. Card issuers in India generally treat it very differently from a purchase:
- A cash advance fee is charged on each withdrawal, usually a percentage of the amount with a minimum rupee amount.
- Interest starts on the day of withdrawal. The interest-free grace period that applies to purchases does not apply to cash.
- Interest is charged at the card's finance charge rate, which is quoted per month and is among the highest rates any regulated lender charges.
- GST at 18 per cent applies to the fee and to interest.
- The withdrawal uses up your cash limit, which is typically a fraction of your total credit limit.
Under RBI's Master Direction on Credit and Debit Cards, the issuer must disclose these charges in the Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC) sent with the card.
Instant personal loan
An instant personal loan is an unsecured loan applied for, signed and repaid online. The word describes the digital process, not a promise of approval; the lender still completes KYC, income verification and credit appraisal. Products vary in tenure: the loans offered through CreditThirty, for example, run for 7 to 90 days. CreditThirty is a brand of MD Finlabs Private Limited and acts as a Lending Service Provider, while the lender that sanctions and disburses the loan is Salora Capital Limited, an RBI-registered NBFC.
The defining feature from a cost point of view is the Key Fact Statement. RBI requires the lender to show you, before you accept, the Annual Percentage Rate, every fee, the repayment schedule and the cooling-off period. Charges are set by the lender and shown in the KFS, so there is a single document you can read and compare.
Side-by-side comparison
| Feature | Credit card cash advance | Instant personal loan |
|---|---|---|
| Where the money comes from | Your existing card limit | A new loan from a bank or NBFC |
| Upfront fee | Cash advance fee, usually a percentage with a minimum, plus GST | Processing fee if any, shown in the KFS |
| Interest-free period | None; interest from the withdrawal date | None, but the total cost is disclosed upfront |
| Rate disclosure | Monthly finance charge in the MITC and statement | APR and all fees in the Key Fact Statement before acceptance |
| Amount available | Limited to the card's cash limit | Based on the lender's appraisal of your income and credit |
| Repayment | Added to the card statement; minimum due trap possible | Fixed due date or schedule, collected online |
| Early repayment | Pay any time by clearing the statement | Depends on lender; some charge no prepayment fee |
| Credit report impact | Raises utilisation; missed payment reported | New account reported; on-time repayment adds positive history |
| Cooling-off / exit right | Not applicable | RBI-mandated cooling-off period |
| Grievance route | Card issuer, then RBI Ombudsman | Lender and LSP grievance officer, then RBI Ombudsman |
Worked cost examples
All figures below are illustrative. They are not the rates of any specific card issuer or lender, and your actual costs will differ. The point is the method, not the exact rupee amounts.
Scenario: ₹20,000 needed for 30 days
Credit card cash advance (illustrative assumptions): fee of 2.5 per cent with a minimum of ₹500; finance charge of 3.5 per cent per month; GST at 18 per cent on fee and interest.
| Item | Working | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Cash advance fee | 2.5% of ₹20,000 = ₹500 (meets minimum) | ₹500 |
| GST on fee | 18% of ₹500 | ₹90 |
| Interest for 30 days | 3.5% of ₹20,000 | ₹700 |
| GST on interest | 18% of ₹700 | ₹126 |
| Total cost | ₹1,416 |
Short-term personal loan (illustrative assumptions): interest of 1.5 per cent per month; processing fee of ₹300; GST at 18 per cent on the fee; no prepayment fee.
| Item | Working | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Processing fee | Flat | ₹300 |
| GST on fee | 18% of ₹300 | ₹54 |
| Interest for 30 days | 1.5% of ₹20,000 | ₹300 |
| Total cost | ₹654 |
In this illustrative case the cash advance costs more than double the personal loan for the same amount and period. The gap comes mainly from the card's higher finance charge rate and the withdrawal fee.
Scenario: ₹5,000 needed for 7 days
Small, very short borrowings behave differently because fixed fees dominate.
Cash advance (same illustrative assumptions): the 2.5 per cent fee on ₹5,000 is ₹125, but the ₹500 minimum applies. Interest for 7 days at 3.5 per cent per month is about ₹41. With GST on both, the total is roughly ₹640.
Personal loan (same illustrative assumptions): processing fee ₹300 plus GST ₹54, and interest for 7 days at 1.5 per cent per month is about ₹18. Total roughly ₹372.
The loan is still cheaper here, but in both cases the fixed fee dwarfs the interest. A ₹372 cost on ₹5,000 for one week is about 7.4 per cent of the amount, which is why the KFS shows APR: it exposes how expensive very small, very short borrowing is regardless of product. If you can wait a few days for salary, waiting is cheapest of all.
What the APR tells you
For the ₹20,000, 30-day loan above, a total cost of ₹654 is about 3.3 per cent for the month, which annualises to an APR in the region of 39 per cent. For the cash advance, ₹1,416 is about 7.1 per cent for the month, roughly 85 per cent annualised. Neither is cheap in absolute terms. Both are tools for a short, specific gap, not for ongoing spending.
Hidden costs people miss
The minimum-due trap on cards
A cash advance lands on your card statement along with purchases. If you pay only the minimum amount due, the issuer applies interest to the entire outstanding balance, including purchases that would otherwise have been interest-free. This is a common route into revolving debt. A personal loan has a fixed repayment that does not interact with your card spending.
Late fees and prepayment
A missed card payment triggers a late fee and interest on the full balance. A missed loan due date triggers penal charges, which RBI requires to be reasonable and disclosed in the KFS. On the other side, where a loan has no prepayment fee, as with loans offered through CreditThirty, repaying even a week early directly cuts interest. See the charges and fees page for how charges are presented, and always read the KFS.
Effect on your credit score
A cash advance increases your card balance, which raises your credit utilisation ratio. Bureaus such as TransUnion CIBIL treat high utilisation as a risk signal, so a large advance can lower your score temporarily even if you repay on time. Lenders reviewing your report may also view frequent cash withdrawals on cards as a sign of cash-flow stress.
A personal loan appears as a new account with a hard enquiry at application. Repaying on time adds positive payment history; repaying late does the opposite.
When a cash advance makes sense
A cash advance is not always the wrong choice. It is reasonable when:
- You need cash physically, right now, at an ATM, and cannot wait for any verification.
- The amount is small and you will clear the full card balance within a few days.
- You do not qualify for a loan, or do not want a new credit account on your report.
When a short-term personal loan makes sense
A short-term loan is usually the better option when:
- You can plan a day ahead and complete KYC and verification.
- You want the total cost fixed and disclosed in writing before you commit.
- The amount exceeds your card's cash limit.
- You want a fixed repayment date aligned with your salary, with no risk of the minimum-due spiral.
- You may want to repay early without a fee.
Before applying, check the eligibility criteria, keep the documents from the document checklist ready, and read the KFS fully before you accept. Approval depends on the lender's verification and appraisal, and no platform can promise an outcome or a time frame.
Key takeaways
- A credit card cash advance charges a withdrawal fee plus interest from day one at the card's finance charge rate, with GST on both; there is no interest-free period.
- A short-term personal loan discloses APR and every charge in the Key Fact Statement before acceptance, which makes the total cost easy to compare.
- In the illustrative examples, the cash advance cost roughly double the loan for the same amount and period; your actual figures depend on your card and lender.
- On very small, very short borrowings, fixed fees dominate and both options are expensive relative to the amount. Waiting for salary is cheaper still.
- Cash advances raise card utilisation and can trap you in minimum-due interest; a fixed-date loan avoids that interaction.
- Prefer the option with no prepayment fee if you may repay early, and always read the MITC or KFS before you commit.
Frequently asked questions
Is a credit card cash advance cheaper than a short-term personal loan?
Not usually. A cash advance typically carries a withdrawal fee plus GST and interest from the day of withdrawal with no interest-free period. A short-term personal loan has its own interest and fees, but the Key Fact Statement shows the total cost upfront. Compare the APR and the rupee cost for your exact amount and number of days.
Does a cash advance on my credit card affect my credit score?
The withdrawal itself is not reported separately, but it raises your outstanding balance and credit utilisation, which bureaus weigh heavily. If the amount is not cleared by the due date, the unpaid balance and any missed payment are reported and can lower your score.
Can I repay a short-term personal loan early to save interest?
It depends on the lender. Some lenders charge a foreclosure or prepayment fee; others, including loans offered through CreditThirty, do not. If there is no prepayment fee, repaying early reduces the interest you pay. Check the Key Fact Statement before accepting the loan.
See what you would actually pay
Check eligibility in a few questions, then read every charge in your Key Fact Statement before you decide. No obligation to accept.
Check eligibilitySee charges and feesFrequently asked questions
Is a credit card cash advance cheaper than a short-term personal loan?
Not usually. A cash advance typically carries a withdrawal fee plus GST and interest from the day of withdrawal with no interest-free period. A short-term personal loan has its own interest and fees, but the Key Fact Statement shows the total cost upfront. Compare the APR and the rupee cost for your exact amount and number of days.
Does a cash advance on my credit card affect my credit score?
The withdrawal itself is not reported separately, but it raises your outstanding balance and credit utilisation, which bureaus weigh heavily. If the amount is not cleared by the due date, the unpaid balance and any missed payment are reported and can lower your score.
Can I repay a short-term personal loan early to save interest?
It depends on the lender. Some lenders charge a foreclosure or prepayment fee; others, including loans offered through CreditThirty, do not. If there is no prepayment fee, repaying early reduces the interest you pay. Check the Key Fact Statement before accepting the loan.
